Page Title: Nursing

Main Content
Main Content Start

           Associate in Applied Science Degree, Nursing


Program Info.  |  Admissions Requirements  |  FAQ's  |  Application Info.  |  Re-Application Info.


2015 Applications will be available soon.

 

A career in nursing offers challenges, self-satisfaction and the opportunity to be a member of the interdisciplinary team providing care in various health care settings.

The Nursing Program at Western Oklahoma State College was established in 1981 and has an outstanding success rate for preparing qualified nurses. Western NursingThe nursing program is currently offered at three sites: Altus, Lawton, and Elk City. Courses are “team-taught” via ITV from all sites. By establishing admission criteria and procedures, the department of nursing hopes to ensure that students selected for the program are capable of successfully completing the nursing program and passing the national examination. The WOSC Nursing Program is approved by the Oklahoma Board of Nursing and is accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing. Upon graduation, students are qualified to take the NCLEX-RN (National Council Licensure Examination).

The minimum time to complete the program requirements is five semesters. Classroom study is combined with practical application in nursing experiences at various clinics and hospitals. The number of applicants to be accepted will reflect the availability of appropriate clinical experience.

The Nursing program is designed for the student who plans to enter the job force immediately. After successful completion of the required curriculum, you will receive an Associate's of Applied Science Degree which prepares you for the Registered Nurse licensure exam. The program consists of a prerequisite semester in which students must have completed all prerequisite courses prior to admission to the Nursing Program. Because of the limited spaces available in this program, admission is highly competitive and completion of all general education, related, and support courses is highly recommended. To be considered for acceptance to the Nursing Program the student must meet certain entrance standards. Contact the Nursing Department for additional program admission requirements and Program details.

Due to the amount of online and computer-based work required for the Nursing Education courses, it is recommended that students take the required computer course within two years of applying to the program.

 

WOSC pre-nursing students are strongly encouraged to make an appointment with their academic counselor at least once a semester. Appointments can be made by calling any of our campuses:

Altus - 580.477.7830            Lawton - 580.591.8062            Elk City - 580.477.7980

All Campus Nursing Fax# - (405) 509-7049

 

The Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing, Inc (ACEN) requests that we share the ‘Assessment Results’ pertaining to the program outcomes with our graduates and their employers. Click here review the Measurement Indicators.

Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing, Inc
3343 Peachtree Road NE, Suite 850, Atlanta, GA 30326
Phone number is 404-975-5000 
Fax number is 404-975-5020

 

Check out a great resources for student nurses at http://nursingdegreeguide.com and http://www.bestnursingdegree.com

The Western Oklahoma State College Department of Nursing Education is accredited by ACEN and approved by the OBN.

nursing nursing nursing nursing nursing nursing nursing nursing nursing nursing nursing nursing

- Nursing -
Was Last Revised: Mon, 27 Oct 2014


Faculty & Staff


Altus:

Chrystal Overton
Dean of Technical Education
chrystal.overton@wosc.edu

Kristy Greer
Director of Nursing Education
kristy.greer@wosc.edu

Melissa Hurst
Administrative Assistant
melissa.hurst@wosc.edu

Liz Greenwood
 Clinical Coordinator
liz.greenwood@wosc.edu

Stacey Jerrick
Sophomore Instructor
stacey.jerrick@wosc.edu

Brenda Phillips
Freshman Instructor
brenda.phillips@wosc.edu

Lawton:

Estelle Guerra
Freshman Coordinator
estelle.guerra@wosc.edu

Brandy Cooper
Sophomore Instructor
brandy.cooper@wosc.edu

Jessica O'Brien
Simulation Coordinator
jessica.obrien@wosc.edu

Alysha Severn
Secretary
alysha.severn@wosc.edu

 

Elk City:

Polly Walker
Sophomore Coordinator
polly.walker@wosc.edu

Carmen Nickel
Freshman Instructor
carmen.nickel@wosc.edu

Jennifer Cary
Secretary
jennifer.cary@wosc.edu

 

 

Western Oklahoma State College Home Page
Western Oklahoma State College
© 2013 All rights reserved, Western Oklahoma State College   2801 N Main   Altus, OK 73521  580.477.2000